MSC Athletic News
Share |
News Photo
Posted by - Thu, Feb. 2, 2017 - [ Men's Swimming ] - Viewed 467 times

Results | MSC Swimming Championship Page | Men's Weekly Report | Psych Sheet | Live Video | Live Results

KINGSPORT, Tenn. – Cumberlands (Ky.) holds a narrow 17-point lead over Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) following the first day of the Mid-South Conference Men's Swimming Championships at the Kingsport Aquatics Center.

A pair of meet records were broken during the meet, while a third time tied the previous championship record. Three individual champions were crowned on Thursday night, along with two relay champions.

Cumberlands sits atop the team standings with 159 points and Lindenwood-Belleville follows with 142 points. Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) is currently in third place overall with 107 points.

MSC newcomer Loyola (La.) sits in fourth place with 71, while Campbellsville (Ky.) and Bethel (Tenn.) are tied for fifth with 42 points apiece.

Of the five events, the Lynx captured three victories during the first day of competition. Cumberlands and Lindsey Wilson each won an event on the day.

The Lindsey Wilson 200-yard medley relay team of Clemens Paetzold, Jonas Mueller, Jose Prado de Lima and Iker Larzabal tied the meet record of one minute and 34.68 seconds to win the Blue Raiders only event of the evening.

Matija Luka Rafaj of Lindenwood-Belleville took home the first individual crown of the MSC Championships after setting a new meet record in the 500-yard freestyle, with a time of 4:34.18.

The Lynx continued its strong start in the individual events after Nico Tscherner edged out the field to win the 200-yard individual medley as he completed the race in 1:53.01. Tschernner's time was the final meet record set on the night.

In the 50-yard freestyle, Joey Sedacca of Cumberlands beat his teammate, Alex Zolotukhin, by 0.02 seconds to win the event in 21.37.

The first day of action concluded with Lindenwood-Belleville winning the 800-yard freestyle relay. The quartet of Niels Engeln, Tim Schmalzreich, Tscherner and Rafaj was the only team to complete the race in less than seven minutes after notching a time of 6:53.05.

The championship continues on Friday with the 200-yard freestyle and 400-yard medley relays, the 400-yard individual medley, 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke and the 100-yard backstroke. The championship concludes on Saturday.


MSC Men's Swimming Championship Winners





200-Yard Medley Relay

Clemens Paetzold

Jonas Mueller

Jose Prado de Lima

Iker Larzabal

Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

1:34.86 *

500-Yard Freestyle

Matija Luka Rafaj

Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)

4:34.18 *

200-Yard Individual Medley

Nico Tscherner

Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)

1:53.01 *

50-Yard Freestyle

Joey Sedacca

Cumberlands (Ky.)


800-Yard Freestyle Relay

Niels Engeln

Tim Schmalzreich

Nico Tscherner

Matija Luka Rafaj

Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)